Former Raiders Named To NFL All-Time Team


On Friday night, the NFL’s all-time defensive backs and special teams players were announced. As a result, Six former members of the Oakland Raiders made the team.

Willie Brown, Cornerback

Brown started his career with the Denver Broncos from 1963-66. He came to the Raiders in 1967. He eventually won a Super Bowl with the Raiders and made four Pro Bowls. Brown finished his career with 54 interceptions, and two returned for a touchdown. The Hall of Fame cornerback was known for his bump-and-run coverage and was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1984.

Mike Haynes, Cornerback

Haynes was originally drafted by the New England Patriots and played there from 1976-82 before joining the Raiders. He was known for his quickness and range that made him one of the best at his position. Haynes made nine Pro Bowls and won a Super Bowl with the Raiders in 1983. He finished his career with 46 interceptions and was inducted to the Hall of Fame in 1997.

Ray Guy, Punter

Guy is the best punter ever to play in the NFL, as he made it to seven Pro Bowls and was six-time First-Team All-Pro. His career punting average was 42.4 and kicked 210 punts inside the 20-yard line. Guy made the Hall of Fame in 2014 and is the second pure kicker in the Hall of Fame.

Shane Lechler, Punter

Lechler is up there with Guy when it comes to punting. He is a seven-time Pro Bowl player and his punting average was 47.6 yards per punt. He was drafted by the Raiders and finished his career with the Houston Texans.

Rod Woodson, Cornerback

Woodson made a name for himself while playing cornerback for the Pittsburgh Steelers from 1987-96. However, he also played for the Raiders from 2002-03 as a free safety for the team. He won the Defensive Player of the Year in 1993 and holds the record for most interceptions returned for a touchdown with 12. Woodson has 71 career interceptions and was inducted in the Hall of Fame in 2019. Along with his coverage skills, Woodson was also a great returner as well.

Ronnie Lott, Safety

Much like Woodson, Ronnie Lott was known for his time with the San Francisco 49ers. With the 49ers, Lott won four Super Bowls and made nine Pro Bowls. Lott came to the Raiders in 1991 and made the Pro Bowl for the 10th time in his career. In that year, he led the NFL in interceptions. The Hall of Fame safety finished his career with 63 interceptions and 16 forced fumbles.

Related Articles

Back to top button