All-Time Mount Rushmore: Green Bay Packers


Looking back, some of the largest icons in NFL history are often the ones that can be overlooked. All franchises have had their fair share of historic players, but who were the best of the best? Here, we discuss the four most iconic players to step on the field. We continue our series with the Green Bay Packers:

Honorable Mentions: Don Hutson, Forrest Gregg, Ray Nitschke

DE Reggie White (1985-98, 2000)

Signed by the Green Bay Packers as a free agent in 1993, White had previously been named Defensive Player of the Year during his time with the Philadelphia Eagles. During his six-year tenure with the team, White accumulated 68.5 sacks. He was part of a Super Bowl run in 1996 and was one of six players in franchise history to have his number retired. Overall, his impact on defense speaks volumes as to why he belongs on the team’s Mount Rushmore.

QB Bart Starr (1956-71)

Considered the centerpiece of the Packers’ dynasty during the 1960’s, Bart Starr was taken in the 17th draft (#200 overall) in the 1956 NFL Draft. Signing for a mere $6,500, Starr became the permanent starter in the 1959 season. He won a pair of Super Bowls and finished with a 9-1 postseason record. His notorious playing during the ‘Ice Bowl’ was one of endless accomplishments over the years. He went on to become the team’s head coach after retirement for nine seasons, made the Hall of Fame, and had his number retired.

Aaron Rodgers (2005-Present)

How can we leave Aaron Rodgers off the list? With multiple MVP awards, a Super Bowl trophy, and a nomination to the Hall of Fame All-2010’s Team, Rodgers has been regarded as one of the most talented passers in the history of the league. His 103.9 career quarterback rating ranks third in NFL history, only trailing Patrick Mahomes (108.7) and Deshaun Watson (104.5). His unforgettable moments in the pass, which include multiple Hail Mary miracles, are only the top of the iceberg as to why Rodgers deserves recognition on the Mount Rushmore.

Brett Favre (1991-2010)

After taking over for Don Majkowski in 1992, Favre went on to become of the most prolific passers in NFL history. He won three consecutive MVP awards from 1995-1997, securing two Super Bowl appearances and one victory during that stretch. While he eventually moved on from Green Bay, his time with the Packers is unforgettable. By the time Favre retired, he was the all-time leader in passing yards and touchdowns. Both those records were eventually broken. In 2015, his #4 jersey was retired at Lambeau Field.

Related Articles

Back to top button