2020 NFL Hall of Fame Candidates to Keep An Eye On


Want more from The Athletes Hub? Check out our Instagram page for more insight!

The Pro Football Hall of Fame proposal to increase the number of candidates for 2020 was approved this past weekend by the Board of Trustees.

The Hall of Fame will temporarily suspend the current selections for the 2020 season. As a result, 20 candidates will be inducted. The candidates will be separated by seniors (10), modern era players (5), contributors (3), and coaches (2).  

Here are five players more than likely to get in for the Pro Football Hall of fame for 2020 because of it:

Ken Riley, CB, Cincinnati Bengals (1969-83)

Ken Riley is fifth all-time in interceptions with 65. He was never the most popular player and didn’t have any Pro Bowls to his resume. However, Riley was a four-time All-Pro player. All the names ahead of Riley in interceptions are currently in the Hall of Fame. This includes talents such as Paul Krause, Emlen Tunnell, Rod Woodson, and Dick Lane. With ten senior players being inducted, Riley’s odds will increase.

Tony Boselli, LT, Jacksonville Jaguars (1995-2001)

Boselli was the first pick for the Jacksonville Jaguars in the 1995 NFL Draft. He is a five-time Pro Bowl and three-time All-Pro player. Not to mention, Boselli is a member of the 1990’s All-Decade team. A big issue with Boselli was the fact that his career was cut short due to injuries. When healthy, Boselli was considered one of the best tackles in the league. Over the last three years, Boselli has been among the 15 finalists.

Tom Flores, Head Coach, Oakland Raiders (1979-87), Seattle Seahawks (1992-94)

Flores is one of two (Mike Ditka being the other) individuals to win a Super Bowl as a player, assistant coach, and head coach. He is also part of NFL history, becoming the first minority coach to win a Super Bowl. Just last year, Flores found himself as a Hall of Fame finalist.

Isaac Bruce, WR, Los Angeles Rams (1994-2007), San Francisco 49ers (2008–09)

Bruce was a star receiver for the ‘Greatest Show on Turf’. Three major players (Kurt Warner, Orlando Pace, Marshall Faulk) from that roster are already in the Hall of Fame. He was a four-time Pro Bowl player and led the league in receiving yards in 1996. Bruce sits fifth all-time in receiving yards and has been a finalist each of the last three years.

Steve Hutchinson, LG, Seattle Seahawks (2001–05), Minnesota Vikings (2006–11), Tennessee Titans (2012)

Hutchinson was arguably the best guard in his respective era. He played a major role for the Seahawks run game. This proved to be true during Shaun Alexander’s 2005 MVP season. Alexander ended up rushing for 1,880 yards, alongside 5.1 yards per carry and 27 TD; a previous NFL record. Hutchinson is on the All-Decade team of the 2000’s and has been a finalist for the past two seasons.

Featured Image: Kirby Lee, USA TODAY Sports

Related Articles

Back to top button