Kawhi Leonard named the 2015-16 NBA Defensive Player on the Year


Kawhi Leonard of the San Antonio Spurs has just been announced as the 2015-16 Defensive Player of the Year. This is his second year in a row winning the award. The award voting was put and the votes were as follows: Kawhi Leonard 547 points, Draymond Green (Golden State Warriors) 421 Hassan Whiteside (Miami Heat) 83, DeAndre Jordan (Los Angeles Clippers) 50.

Some fans may have believed Hassan Whiteside would have won the award due to Dwyane Wade’s praise on the Miami Heat Center. However, Kawhi’s lockdown defense, having the ability to stay on his man at all time whether he is behind the arc or in the paint, won him this award. He has been a key member to the San Antonio Spurs roster since he was drafted in 2011. Leonard still proves himself as one of the most accomplished young players in the league. His most notable accomplishment is winning the 2014 NBA Finals MVP.

He has ended his season off averaging a little over 20 PPG, almost 3 APG, and near 7 RBG. Kawhi Leonard is the 9th man in NBA history to capture more than one Defensive Player of the Year award.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s